Wellies and a Wedding Dress

Hello there. Last Thursday I attended a Scottish wedding in Oban. Nikki McLeod needed an assistant for a wedding so I got in touch and we started talking. After a while I could think about was „wedding in a castle – yay free trip – rainbows, sunshine and photography“ Well, I am easily amused. So yes, I thought that it was a great way to find out whether I´d like to shoot weddings and get some experience being around a pro wedding photographer. (also free trip and a Scottish castle wedding, hello?)

After a tree hour train ride a taxi dropped me right in front of a wee castle in the middle of nowhere. I found Nikki, met up with the lovely bride & groom &  Tatiana Ashakova, the very talented makeup artist. We started with bridal preparation, then the ceremony which nearly made even my cynical self tear up. Then came the fun part – portrait session with the bride & groom. Our prayers and sunshine dances seemed to work as the weather was just perfect as we got out at the beach.

So here you can see the amazing landscape near Oban & the lucky couple on Nikki´s photo. Climbing up those rocks in Rebecca´s colourful and way too big wellies, and covered in heavy and super expensive gear, was quite the challenge.  Carrying things and trying not to fall was what I spent most of the time doing during the day. But I also helped out with the lighting by holding up video light or a flashgun, when needed. And at one point when both me and the photographer were standing in a marsh. So wellies were a must, even the bride had a pair.  This definitely wasn´t one of those boring studio sessions!

Overall I found being an assistant at a wedding an enjoyable experience, everyone was really nice and friendly especially Nikki, and the now married couple Anita and Grant. I also enjoyed chatting to guests and the owner of the castle, who didn´t mind me stealing strawberries in chocolate (only had two, promise)  and the piper from St Andrews (who didn´t know any of my friends from there so we couldn´t gossip)

It was a great experience but I still don´t know whether I´d like shooting weddings. It was quite fun but I guess that it would only get more and more stressful as a photographer. So I’m a bit unsure, I guess I´d stick with portraits, models and landscape for now but I certainly wouldn´t mind giving it weddings a proper try. I guess we´ll see. Anyways, what do you guys think about wedding & wedding photography?

Click here for more of Nikki´s pictures of the wedding.  Scroll down for some of my pictures from Oban. I might put some more in the next post if people find it interesting.

The lovely Barcaldine Castle
Loch Creran

Author: reverine

Writer & Photographer currently based in Edinburgh, UK. http://reverinephotography.com/

2 thoughts on “Wellies and a Wedding Dress”

Leave a Reply

