Dancing in a Forrest

This self portrait session was an absolute nightmare. At first me and my friend planned to explore an abandoned hospital by the banks of Volga, but we got followed by the police. Probably shouldn’t be carrying my tripod but I absolutely didn’t expect that. After a nice walk and dinner, I decided to shoot at a place I discovered earlier but once I got there I realised I forgot the thing that connects your camera with the tripod (I’m sure it has a proper name but can’t be bothered googling it) so I had to go back. Not happy about that.

Also a few people would laugh at me when they saw me, not sure if it was the outfit or the red lipstick and the fact that I was carrying a big tripod and a camera bag. I know that my outfit would be more fitting for a hippie summer festival rather than a walk through busy streets of a provincial Russian city, but still. No wonder that all girls in Russia basically look the same… Nothing against Russians, some were really lovely but I just hate provincial attitudes where everything different is considered strange or laughable (apart from sushi, Russians love their sushi). That’s why I can’t wait to go back to Scotland where no one gives a damn, in the west end of Glasgow where I live you can see the pink-clad Byers road tranny or the Highlander guy who always walks his German Shepard wearing a full kilt and no one even raises an eyebrow…

But back to the shoot, despite the fact that I wasn’t in a great mood, I found a nice secluded place and set up my tripod hoping to spend a fun half an hour taking photos. Oh how wrong I was. I completely forgot about the mosquitos. They were everywhere. Buzzing in my ears when changing the settings on my camera, looking at the pictures or trying to strike a pose. That’s why I look so miserable at all of these – I’m anticipating the next mosquito attack. But I made myself stay until I get at least one good photo, this was my last chance to do a self portrait and wouldn’t want to leave Russia without at least one useable one, in order to justify dragging the tripod all the way there. So in the end I think I’m quite happy with the series. Here’s the rest. Let me know which one is your favourite.

Author: reverine

Writer & Photographer currently based in Edinburgh, UK. http://reverinephotography.com/

4 thoughts on “Dancing in a Forrest”

  1. Beautiful. We’re actually doing a self portrait challenge this month. If you are a match for our gallery(photographer with a connection to mental health issues, self or others, or just feel for the cause) we would welcome a submission from you of these or others.

  2. I like the first one, and the one with your back to the camera 🙂 and I agree totally with what you say about Glasgow – that highland guy is amazing, you know he lives just off Byres Rd? And I thought your outfit was very summer chic – saw several similar ensembles in the park yesterday x

Leave a Reply

