The Barcelona Experience – beach, protests, stolen wallet and partying with no money…

DSC_0479

How can one describe the roller coaster that was Barcelona?

Between october and november I had a 2 week holiday and thought it would be great to go to Barcelona… my friends agreed and what I thought an idle dream could become a reality.  The main problem, however was getting there from a tiny french town in the middle of nowhere. We arranged a car sharing trip from our town to Montpelier and from there to Barcelona, though a few days before it seemed like we might not go anywhere as the first driver’s car broke down. So we were in the awkward position of having to arrange a new ride the day before we were supposed to leave. I started packing at 1am and went to sleep worried about whether we’d actually make it there.

Thankfully, both of our drivers were very nice (especially our ride from Montpelier to Barcelona, whose car was tiny and uncomfortable but had great conversations). And I couldn’t believe my luck when we were walking dazed at the Ramblas getting hopelessly lost while trying to find our hostel. We were in Barcelona!

DSC_0494 DSC_0505

DSC_0506 DSC_0516 DSC_0555 DSC_0567 DSC_0572DSC_0601 DSC_0603DSC_0642DSC_0662

Barcelona was amazing, great atmosphere, tons of colours and warmth. You could just wander around the streets all day and find new and amazing things to look at, narrow streets, food vendors, we even stumbled upon a protest. And the beach… the beach was just amazing.

Barcelona beach Barcelona Beach

But it wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows. My handbag was stolen on the beach at night after a night out, I was talking to someone and I had it on me and then it was gone (and so was my phone, wallet, & ID in it), thankfully the guy gave me 10€ for a taxi home. After spending the next day hungover and miserable I went out again as it was our last night in Barcelona. I went out with nothing but 2,20€ in my pocket and still managed to score booze and fags. Later that night I also managed to lose the friend I was with and had to spend my last 2€ on a metro ticket home and shout on the street so that my friends would let me in to the hotel room (no one trusted me with a key after my bag was stolen). So yeah, Barcelona was definitely a roller coaster experience…

The city made me feel awful and paranoid at times yet I can’t stop loving the epic joi de vivre that seemed to envelop the place…

DSC_0707 DSC_0699

DSC_0941 DSC_0942 DSC_0949 DSC_0959 DSC_0979 DSC_0981 DSC_1019 DSC_1045 DSC_1065

On our last day I was tired and shaky as I barely got any sleep the night before and even tried to sleep in a park in the middle of the city (at some point you just stop caring), and couldn’t wait to go back. But the moment we got out of the car at a sleepy train station in France, with cold wind blowing through the sweater and a jacket I was wearing over my t-shirt I wished I was still in Barcelona…

DSC_0912 DSC_0928 DSC_0930

Author: reverine

Writer & Photographer currently based in Edinburgh, UK. http://reverinephotography.com/

Leave a Reply

