Briefly in Brussels, some photos & memories

Brussels by Reverine

Brussels was my favourite town which is why I was looking forwards to going there again. But from the moment I got of at the train station, alone and confused it was different, it was cold, rainy and I took the metro in the opposite direction. Once in town I forgot how much of Brussels I actually remembered and walking around the city felt effortless but strange as half-forgotten memories hit me as I walked past a familiar looking street, square or shop.

Brussels by Reverine Brussels by ReverineBrussels by Reverine Brussels by Reverine Brussels by Reverine Brussels by Reverine Brussels by Reverine Brussels by Reverine

DSC_4166 It’s difficult to be alone and miserable at a place where you were once in love, no matter how long ago it was.
Brussels by Reverine Brussels by Reverine

DSC_4160DSC_4167 DSC_4176 DSC_4183 DSC_4191 DSC_4203DSC_4208

Thankfully I didn’t feel lonely for too long as I made a new friend with whom I went out for some beer & waffles which yet again improved my opinion on Brussels & travel. Though for a better experience I recommend visiting during summer.

DSC_4211DSC_4215

Author: reverine

Writer & Photographer currently based in Edinburgh, UK. http://reverinephotography.com/

6 thoughts on “Briefly in Brussels, some photos & memories”

  1. Oh my gods, this is a beautiful post, with really lovely photography!
    You’ve instilled in me the desire to visit Brussels now 🙂

    1. Yes you should, it’s incredibly charming even when it’s cold and rainy. If you’re into art I recommend visiting Magritte’s museum. I didn’t have much time in Brussels but I’m really glad I went there.

      1. There’s a (small) chance I might go to that part of Europe this year, and if I do I shall most definitely take your suggestion, thank you! And I agree, if I got the chance to go, even for just a couple of hours, I think it would be worth it.

  2. Such beautiful shots of the city! I’ve visited Brussels once, also in winter, but was definitely unimpressed- I guess I was in the wrong part of town! Very inspired to now visit again – and in summer. Living in Germany, its not too far for me. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

