Paris Fashion Week or I have no idea what I’m doing

So I went to Paris Fashion Week. Or since I live in Paris, the fashion week came to me. Except that’s not entirely true. The fashion week was mainly concentrated in little pockets of fashion where everything was allowed – or so it seemed, until you stepped out of the bubble and then people would make “funny” comments about trendsetters (people with wacky clothes) instead of photographing them.

I was free on Sunday so I looked at the show timetable thinking of skulking around before the shows and taking some street pics. I’ve had some experience with fashion shows and I’ve had press access for Bratislava Fashion Weekend (event which sadly died after a single year) but that didn’t really prepare me for a “proper” fashion week. I took a metro to the Grand Palais and for the first couple of minutes of walking around I was wondering what the hell I’m doing here. There were a few people waiting, most of them photographers and a few guests. Not much else seemed to be happening.

Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014

I amused myself by taking pictures of some fashionably dressed folk and other photographers, surprisingly a lot of them looked pretty stylish (even I tried). About half an hour after I arrived it started. More people began to arrive and everyone would just start running after them to take a picture. Often you’d have a group of 10 people photographing a single fashion victim. Everyone ran back and forth trying to spot the famous/best-dressed/good-looking person and of course once someone started taking a picture of a model/whomever everyone nearby would join. At first I found it crazy, but I soon became absorbed in this game. Although just there and then – playing paparazzi before a fashion week show, I realised how little I actually know about the world of fashion. Photographers would chant someone’s name and I would look around trying to spot the famous person. Or I’d hear a group of girls squealing only to realise too late that Anna Wintour strode past. Ah well. I did take a few pictures of famous people, although I have no idea who they are. They did look good. This blog probably destroys any seeming street fashion cred I may have had, but to hell with that.

Here are some pictures! I won’t fit all the amazing and good-looking and the plain weird looking people just into one blog so there’ll be another part soon.

Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014 Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014

Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014

Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014 Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014

Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014 Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014 Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014 Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014 Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014Chloe-Paris fashion week 2014 DSC_6023 DSC_6028DSC_6050 DSC_6056DSC_6066 DSC_6078DSC_6089DSC_6102 DSC_6106DSC_6126 DSC_6128 DSC_6135 DSC_6137DSC_6145DSC_6155 DSC_6166 DSC_6169DSC_6175 DSC_6176 DSC_6177DSC_6184DSC_6190 DSC_6195 DSC_6197 DSC_6201 DSC_6205-2DSC_6216-2DSC_6220-2

Author: reverine

Writer & Photographer currently based in Edinburgh, UK. http://reverinephotography.com/

2 thoughts on “Paris Fashion Week or I have no idea what I’m doing”

  1. Wow, it all seems to overwhelming, I think if I had been in your place I would have just stood there staring and not taken a single photo. I’m not much for fashion, but it was really interesting to see all the different textures and colors layered over one another in this 🙂

Leave a Reply

